Opening Day 2019

Largs Bowling Club have enjoyed well-attended opening days for both the ladies and gents’ sections.


President David Macdonald was delighted to welcome members and representatives of kindred clubs to join in the play after the Lady President, Mary Soltysek, formally delivered the jack and declared the green open. Malcolm Thomson was the lucky member to collect the prize for guessing the jack length.


The Lang Medal contest between the President’s and Vice President’s teams was won by a margin of 61 to 52 in favour of the President's players. Vice President Bernie Rafferty presented the Lang Medal to President David and he and the President then presented prizes for the highest up rinks, being David Macdonald, Charlie McIntosh, Peter Carmichael and Peter Soltysek for the Presidents and Alan McCormack, Bert McGeoch, Peter Hartley and Frazer McPhail for the Vice Presidents.


Lady President Mary Soltysek welcomed members and representatives of local clubs to her section's opening and invited Club Secretary, Lesley Cannon (who was acting as Vice President for the day) to deliver the opening jack.


Following a very close competition for the Marshall Jug, the Secretary’s team narrowly pipped the President’s. Lady President Mary presented the winners' trophy to Lesley.


The highest up rink for the President was Pamela Corrigan, Cath Jones, Margaret Hendry and Kim Foster and for the Secretary it was Aileen MacKenzie, Pat McDonald, Jean Reid and Audrey Reid.

2019 LBC Gents  Lang Medal.jpg
2019 LBC Gents Opening Day.jpg
2019 LBC Ladies Opening Day IMGP5363 $.j

Largs Bowling Club held their annual Open Triples Competition on Sunday, 24th June 2018. 

The Competition was once again kindly sponsored by Arnold Clark and we thank them for their continued support. We could not have asked for a better day for the games to take place as we basked in glorious sunshine and the green was in excellent condition thanks to the hard work of our Green Keeper Ron Hempseed. With 28 teams taking part we were in for a long day and some excellent bowling, the final was contested between Neil Gillies’ team from Dalry and John McCubbin’s team from Millport who missed the last ferry back to the island as a result; fortunately John’s Brother lives in Largs and put them up for the night.  The winners on the day were Neil Gillies’ team who proved too strong in the final and ran out worthy winners, and in doing so defended the title they won last year. Prizes were presented to both finalists by Linda Young wife of President Ray. 

Winners Neil Gillies Dalry team on the left and John McCubbin’s Millport team on the right

With LBC President Ray Young and his Wife Linda, Tom McMillan LBC and Mrs Christine McCubbin Bowls Scotland Umpire who had a busy day umpiring on the green.

bowling winners.jpg

Skelmorlie team win 2018 Largs Viking Open Fours


Largs Bowling Club held its Viking Open Fours competition on Sunday 19th August, with 92 players participating from as far away as Kilmarnock to Bute. The weather was kind and a good day was had by all. The final was a very close game which came down to the last end. Mrs Linda Young presented the prizes and is pictured with the winning Skelmorlie team on the front row President Ray Young, Neal Nicolson, Darren Robertson, Mrs Linda Young, Heather Simpson, James Goldie and Jim Welsh who organised the event. Back row runners up Jim Blackwood, Ian Stuart, Shona Blackwood & Donald Love from Kilmarnock Our thanks go to Robert Rarity Funeral Directors for sponsoring the event which heralds in the Viking Festival season.

Viking Fours 2018.jpg